Faculty Steering Committee Update for August 2021

Sam Yeap, MD, President of the FSC

On August 19, the IU School of Medicine Faculty Steering Committee held its first meeting of the 2021-22 academic year. The FSC is the representative body of the faculty of the School of Medicine, which exists in large part to promote communication between the school's faculty and administration. President Sam Yeap, MD, introduced the new officers, including secretary Richard Gunderman, MD, president-elect Christine Eckel, PhD, secretary-elect Margaret Schwarz, MD, and past president Marc Mendonca, PhD. Each department in the school has at least one representative to the FSC, and other members include the dean of the medical school, four regional campus representatives, a representative from the IU faculty council, and ex officio members. The FSC meets monthly, and the next meeting will by September 23 at 1 pm in Daly 186. Beginning at 1:15 pm, the September 23 meeting with shift to a town hall discussion concerning support for research faculty at the regional campuses, which all faculty are invited to join via Zoom: https://iu.zoom.us/j/87675388132. The new staff support for FSC is TraNeka Pippens, who replaces Jessica Swanson.

Jay Hess, MD, Dean of the IU School of Medicine

Dean Jay Hess presented a number of leadership updates. Pamela Whitten, PhD, is the new president of IU, and she has a research background in telehealth. Him Shah, MD, is the new executive associate dean for clinical affairs. Chair searches are either underway or will soon commence in pathology, psychiatry, surgery, dermatology, and radiology. The School of Medicine's new research and education building will be located just south of Goodman Hall, including five floors devoted to research and three floors devoted to education. The school's diversity task forces have made recommendations, which will include new dashboards of metrics to monitor, revisions to the Honor Code, and diversity town halls continuing this academic year. Jay addressed a question concerning staffing shortages in fields such as nursing and areas such as the operating rooms by saying that it is the highest priority of IU Health Physicians right now, and the school is working hard to ensure that the situation is rectified so our faculty, house staff, and students can provide the best patient care.

Mary Dankoski, PhD, Dean for Faculty Affairs, Professional Development, and Diversity

The school's Honor Code has been revised and approved by 16 groups. It promotes alignment with School of Medicine values, presents a clear stance on anti-racism, and contains a plan for implementation, including how concerns are reviewed, with a focus on professional development. A new committee called the Honor Code Advisory Committee will be created and assume the functions of the Teacher-Learner Advocacy Committee and the Honor Code Task Force going forward. Faculty members can seek to serve on this committee this fall. Mary also presented a policy concerning compensation for research-track faculty members, who currently number approximately 180 at the assistant level, 30 at the associate level, and 12 at the senior level. This will create a minimum level of compensation for such faculty members and help to promote greater consistency across the school.

Question and suggestions regarding the work of the FSC can be addressed to:

President Sam Yeap, MD -- yyeap@iupui.edu Secretary Richard Gunderman, MD - rbgunder@iu.edu President-elect Christine Eckel, PhD -- ceckel@iu.edu Secretary-elect Margaret Schwarz, MD -- schwarma@iu.edu