Indiana University School of Medicine Committee Report

Please submit this report to Jessica Swanson jlleisin@iu.edu

Committee Name: Teaching Awards Committee

Committee Chair Name: Ruben Hernan Hernandez Mondragon MD.

Committee Chair Email: ruhernan@iupui.edu

Meeting Frequency: 2X/yr

What is the mission of your committee?

The Teaching Awards Committee is responsible for selecting faculty for annual awards of recognition for superior teaching. The purpose of these awards is to highlight the importance of teaching within the School as well as to recognize those who have excelled in this responsibility. This committee is responsible for choosing the winners of the Trustee Teaching Award and other Indiana University School of Medicine Faculty Teaching Awards such as the Inspirational Educator and Scholar Educator Awards. This past year the committee also reviewed and selected for the second time winners for the 2020 Volunteer Faculty Teaching award. The committee will consider additional awards to recognize teaching and educational scholarship.

What has your committee accomplished this year?

The committee accomplished the addition of more members representing a diverse background and regional IUSM center affiliation. This past academic year, the committee received nominations and applications for the 2020 Inspirational Educator Awards, the 2020 Scholar Educator Award, the 2020 Volunteer Faculty Teaching award and the 2021 Trustees Teaching Award

The Inspirational Educator Award recognizes the outstanding educating efforts of faculty members who inspire their learners and motivate them to work hard and achieve more. The committee selects 2 Inspirational Educator Awards, one for a junior Faculty (under 10 years), and one for a senior member (over 10 years). Out of ten nominations Dr. Luke Schafer was awarded by the Committee for the under 10 years faculty and Dr. Joanne M. Wojcieszek was selected out of six applications for the over 10 years Award.

The Scholar Educator Award was created to recognize the outstanding educator efforts of faculty members who approach teaching and learning from a scholarly lens; these applicants

are judged on their scholarship on teaching as well as teaching excellence. One impressive application was received, the committee awarded Dr. Dylan Cooper as the recipient of the 2020 Scholar Educator Award.

These awardees were recognized with certificates at the 2020 Fall IUSM Faculty Meeting as well as on the OFAPD website.

The Volunteer Faculty Teaching Award, honors those individuals who have a positive impact on learning through the direct teaching of IU School of Medicine students and/or residents. This past year, the committee recognized 35 faculty members for this award which was distributed at the IUSM fall faculty meeting.

In early 2021, the committee received nominations for the 2021 Trustees Teaching Award (TTA) with 59 slots allotted for IUSM (24 tenure-track and 35 Clinical/Lecturer/affiliate track faculty). After reviewing the 108 eligible nominations, 59 faculty were selected for the TTA and were forwarded for approval. The committee reviewed each application considering Department Chair's ranking, award history, balance distribution among all campuses and departments. These awardees will be recognized at the 2021 Spring IUSM Faculty Meeting.

How does the committee disseminate information to the IUSM community?

The Teaching Awards Committee Chair and administrative assistants have taken the time to personally contact each chair/division or center director about our awards, as well as targeting IUSM committees such as the Women's Advisory Council and Diversity Affairs.

Nominations are disseminated by IUSM newsletter and Faculty affairs Professional Development website.

Each Committee member is also encouraged to share award nomination information to their departments.

Once nomination process is completed and the award winners are selected, each individual winner is notified in their achievement.

For the Volunteer Faculty, Inspirational and Scholar Educator awards they are recognized at the Fall IUSM faculty meeting.

The Trustees teaching award is been recognized each year at the Spring IUSM faculty meeting.

What goals does your committee have for the next academic year? How can the Faculty Steering Committee help you to accomplish those goals?

The goals of the committee are to continue to promote excellence in teaching by awarding deserving faculty these prestigious awards. A continued effort will be in the advertisement of these awards so that the committee can receive more nominations and applications for review, especially from learners.

We are very grateful for each department leadership that provides a rank list of their nominations, this helps the selection process.

Ruben Hernan Hernandez Mondragon, MD

Assistant Professor of Clinical Family Medicine Pronouns he/his/him Vice-Chair of Education for Department of Family Medicine Course Director Sub-I Family Medicine Chair Teaching Awards Committee IUSM Assistant Family Medicine Residency Director of Global Health CFMD Level 1 Lifestyle Medicine Diplomate Macromissionary nutrition Department of Family Medicine Indiana University School of Medicine Gold Humanism Honor Society member STFM Medical Education Committee STFM Global Health Educator Collaborative 1110 W Michigan Street Long Hospital, Second Floor Indianapolis, IN 46202 Telephone: 317-278-0300 Fax : 317-274-4444